Government Defeat in Lords on Coroners and Justice Bill

Monday 26/10/2009

On 26/10/2009 the government had a defeat in the House of Lords on an amendment to the Coroners and Justice Bill: To not make sexual infidelity an exception to the qualifying triggers for the loss of control defence to murder.

This was defeat number 24 in the parliamentary session.

Breakdown of Votes	For Govt	Against Govt	Total	No vote
Conservative	0	37	37	154
Labour	81	1	82	130
Liberal Democrat	0	33	33	38
Crossbench	2	24	26	155
Bishops	0	2	2	21
Other	1	2	3	20
Total	84	99	183	518

Conservative Votes with the Government

Conservative Votes against the Government

Baroness Anelay of St Johns Lord Astor of Hever Baroness Bottomley of Nettlestone Viscount Bridgeman Lord Denham Baroness Fookes Baroness Gardner of Parkes Lord Garel-Jones Lord Glenarthur Lord Glentoran Lord Howe of Aberavon Lord Hunt of Wirral Earl Liverpool Earl Lindsay Lord Lyell Lord Mancroft Lord McColl of Dulwich **Duke of Montrose** Lord Northbrook Baroness O'Cathain Baroness Seccombe Lord Sheikh Lord Stewartby Lord Taylor of Holbeach Viscount Ullswater

Lord Bates
Lord De Mauley
Lord Freeman
Lord Geddes
Lord Henley
Baroness Knight of Collingtree
Lord Luke
Lord Mayhew of Twysden
Baroness Morris of Bolton
Lord Patten
Earl Shrewsbury
Lord Tebbit

Labour Votes with the Government

Baroness Adams of Craigielea **Baroness Andrews** Lord Bach Lord Bernstein of Craigweil Baroness Blackstone Lord Borrie Lord Bradley Lord Brett Lord Campbell-Savours Lord Carter of Coles Lord Cunningham of Felling **Baroness Crawley** Lord Davies of Oldham Lord Desai Lord Dubs Lord Elder Lord Falconer of Thoroton Baroness Farrington of Ribbleton Lord Foulkes of Cumnock Baroness Gale Baroness Gould of Potternewton Lord Gilbert Baroness Henig Lord Haworth Baroness Hollis of Heigham Lord Howarth of Newport Lord Hunt of Kings Heath Baroness Jay of Paddington Lord Jones Lord Jordan Baroness Kinnock Holyhead Lord Lea of Crondall Lord Mackenzie of Framwellgate Lord Mandelson Lord Maxton Baroness McIntosh of Hudnall Lord Mitchell Lord Moonie

Lord Archer of Sandwell Lord Bilston Lord Boyd of Duncansby Lord Brookman Lord Clark of Windermere Lord Davies of Coity Lord Donoughue Lord Evans of Parkside Lord Faulkner of Worcester Lord Giddens Lord Hart of Chilton Baroness Hilton of Eggardon Lord Hoyle Baroness Jones of Whitchurch Lord Kinnock Lord Macdonald of Tradeston Baroness Massey of Darwen Lord McKenzie of Luton Baroness Morgan of Drefelin

Baroness Morris of Yardley Lord Morris of Handsworth

Lord Patel of Bradford Lord Pendry Lord Radice Baroness Quin

Baroness Royall of Blaisdon Lord Rowlands Viscount Simon Lord Snape Lord Soley

Baroness Symons of Vernham Dean Baroness Thornton Lord Tunnicliffe Baroness Uddin Baroness Wall of New Barnet

Lord West of Spithead Baroness Wilkins

Labour Votes against the Government

Lord Morgan

Liberal Democrat Votes with the Government

Liberal Democrat Votes against the Government

Lord Addington Lord Alderdice Lord Carlile of Berriew Lord Chidgey Lord Cotter Lord Dykes

Lord Fearn Baroness Garden of Frognal Lord Kirkwood of Kirkhope Lord Livsey of Talgarth Baroness Hamwee Lord Lester of Herne Hill

Earl Mar and Kellie Lord McNally

Baroness Nicholson of Winterbourne Lord Oakeshott of Seagrove Bay

Lord Shutt of Greetland Lord Smith of Clifton

Baroness Thomas of Walliswood Baroness Thomas of Winchester

Lord Tyler Lord Wallace of Saltaire

Crossbench Votes with the Government

Baroness Finlay of Llandaff Lord Haskins

Crossbench Votes against the Government

Lord Bew **Baroness Butler-Sloss** Baroness Campbell of Surbiton Lord Cobbold Baroness D'Souza Lord Elystan-Morgan Lord Hannay of Chiswick Baroness Howe of Idlicote

Lord Hylton Lord Jay of Ewelme Lord Kilclooney Lord Lloyd of Berwick Lord Low of Dalston Baroness Masham of Ilton **Baroness Meacher** Baroness Murphy Lord Neill of Bladen Lord Pannick

Lord Walpole Lord Williamson of Horton Baroness Young of Hornsey

Bishop Votes with the Government

Bishop Votes against the Government

Bishop of Chichester Bishop of Ripon and Leeds

Other Votes with the Government

Baroness Young of Old Scone

Other Votes against the Government

Lord Browne of Belmont Lord Morrow

> 1374 Ref:

Lord O'Neill of Clackmannan

Baroness Prosser Lord Rosser Lord Sewel

Baroness Warwick of Undercliffe

Lord Young of Norwood Green

Baroness Barker Lord Clement-Jones

Baroness Falkner of Margravine

Lord Goodhart Lord Lee of Trafford Baroness Maddock

Baroness Miller of Chilthorne Domer

Baroness Sharp of Guildford

Lord Teverson

Lord Thomas of Gresford **Baroness Walmsley**

Lord Cameron of Dillington

Viscount Craigavon

Baroness Emerton