Government Defeat in Lords on Royal Parks and Other Open Spaces (Amendment) etc. Regulations 2010

Wednesday 10/03/2010

On 10/03/2010 the government had a defeat in the House of Lords on an amendment to the Royal Parks and Other Open Spaces (Amendment) etc. Regulations 2010: To regret that the regulations, which include parking charges for Royal Parks, have been laid before Parliament despite public opposition, and to call upon the government to replace them with regulations without the parking charges (non-fatal motion).

This was defeat number 9 in the parliamentary session.

| Breakdown of Votes | For Govt | Against Govt | Total | No vote |
|--------------------|----------|--------------|-------|---------|
| Conservative | 0 | 82 | 82 | 107 |
| Labour | 70 | 1 | 71 | 140 |
| Liberal Democrat | 0 | 43 | 43 | 29 |
| Crossbench | 1 | 8 | 9 | 173 |
| Bishops | 0 | 0 | 0 | 25 |
| Other | 0 | 2 | 2 | 24 |
| Total | 71 | 136 | 207 | 498 |

Conservative Votes with the Government

Conservative Votes against the Government

Lord Astor of Hever Baroness Anelay of St Johns Lord Bates Lord Bell Lord Brougham and Vaux Baroness Buscombe Earl Caithness Earl Cathcart Lord Cope of Berkeley Lord Crickhowell Lord Denham Lord Dixon-Smith Baroness Eccles of Moulton Lord Elton Baroness Fookes Lord Forsyth of Drumlean Baroness Gardner of Parkes Lord Glentoran Lord Hamilton of Epsom Baroness Hanham Lord Hodgson of Astley Abbotts Earl Home Lord Howell of Guildford Lord Howe of Aberavon Lord Inglewood Lord James of Blackheath Lord Kimball Baroness Knight of Collingtree Lord Lang of Monkton Earl Lindsay Lord Lyell of Markyate Lord Lvell Lord Marland Lord Marlesford Lord McColl of Dulwich **Duke of Montrose Baroness Noakes** Lord Northbrook Lord Patten Baroness O'Cathain **Baroness Rawlings** Lord Reay Lord Roberts of Conwy Lord Sanderson of Bowden Farl Selborne Lord Selkirk of Douglas Lord Shaw of Northstead Baroness Shephard of Northwold Lord Stewartby Lord Strathclyde

Baroness Byford Lord Colwyn Lord De Mauley Viscount Eccles Earl Ferrers Lord Fowler Lord Goodlad Lord Higgins Lord Howard of Rising Lord Hunt of Wirral Lord Jenkin of Roding Lord Laing of Dunphail Lord Luke Lord MacGregor of Pulham Market Lord Mayhew of Twysden Baroness Morris of Bolton Lord Norton of Louth Lord Plumb Lord Renton of Mount Harry Baroness Seccombe Lord Selsdon Lord Skelmersdale Lord Swinfen

Earl Attlee

Viscount Bridgeman

Lord Taylor of Holbeach Lord Trimble **Baroness Wilcox**

Lord Trefgarne Baroness Verma Viscount Trenchard Lord Waddington

Labour Votes with the Government

Baroness Adams of Craigielea Lord Acton Lord Bach Lord Bassam of Brighton Baroness Blackstone Lord Bilston Lord Bradley Lord Boyd of Duncansby Lord Brooke of Alverthorpe Lord Brookman

Lord Clark of Windermere **Baroness Crawley** Lord Davies of Oldham Lord Davies of Coity

Lord Desai Lord Dubs

Lord Evans of Parkside Baroness Farrington of Ribbleton

Lord Foster of Bishop Auckland Baroness Gale Baroness Golding Baroness Gould of Potternewton

Lord Hart of Chilton Lord Haskel Baroness Hollis of Heigham Lord Hoyle

Lord Hunt of Kings Heath Baroness Jones of Whitchurch Lord Lea of Crondall Lord Macdonald of Tradeston

Lord MacKenzie of Culkein Lord Maxton Baroness Morris of Yardley

Lord Morgan Lord Patel of Bradford

Lord Rosser Lord Puttnam Baroness Royall of Blaisdon

Lord Sawyer Viscount Simon Lord Sewel

Lord Stone of Blackheath Baroness Symons of Vernham Dean

Lord Tomlinson Lord Tunnicliffe

Baroness Wilkins

Baroness Andrews Lord Bhattacharyya Lord Borrie

Lord Brett Lord Campbell-Savours

Lord Davidson of Glen Clova Baroness Dean of Thornton-le-Fylde

Lord Elder

Lord Faulkner of Worcester

Lord Gilbert

Lord Graham of Edmonton Lord Haworth Lord Hughes of Woodside

Lord Judd

Lord Mackenzie of Framwellgate Baroness Morgan of Drefelin

Lord Parekh Baroness Pitkeathley Lord Rowlands

Baroness Scotland of Asthal

Lord Soley

Baroness Thornton

Baroness Wall of New Barnet

Labour Votes against the Government

Baroness Hilton of Eggardon

Liberal Democrat Votes with the Government

Liberal Democrat Votes against the Government

Lord Addington Lord Avebury Lord Burnett

Lord Dholakia Baroness Garden of Frognal Lord Goodhart Lord Kirkwood of Kirkhope

Baroness Maddock Earl Mar and Kellie Lord Newby Baroness Nicholson of Winterbourne

Lord Redesdale Lord Rennard Lord Rodgers of Quarry Bank Baroness Scott of Needham Market

Lord Smith of Clifton Lord Teverson

Baroness Thomas of Winchester

Lord Wallace of Saltaire Baroness Williams of Crosby Lord Alderdice Baroness Barker Lord Chidgey Lord Dykes

Lord Pendry

Lord Lester of Herne Hill

Lord Steel of Aikwood

Baroness Thomas of Walliswood **Baroness Tonge**

Baroness Walmsley

Lord Ashdown of Norton-sub-Hamdon

Lord Bradshaw Lord Clement-Jones

Baroness Falkner of Margravine Baroness Harris of Richmond Lord Livsey of Talgarth

Lord McNally Baroness Northover Lord Roberts of Llandudno Lord Shutt of Greetland Lord Taverne

Lord Thomas of Gresford

Lord Tope

Lord Watson of Richmond

Crossbench Votes with the Government

Lord Martin Springburn

Crossbench Votes against the Government

Lord Alton of Liverpool Baroness Butler-Sloss Lord Walpole Baroness D'Souza Baroness Masham of Ilton

Viscount Craigavon Baroness Howe of Idlicote

Bishop Votes with the Government Bishop Votes against the Government

Other Votes with the Government

Other Votes against the Government Lord Maginnis of Drumglass

Lord Rogan

Ref: 1416