# Government Defeat in Lords on Freedom of Establishment and Free Movement of Services (EU Exit) Regulations 2019

Wednesday 23/10/2019

On 23/10/2019 the government had a defeat in the House of Lords on an amendment to the Freedom of Establishment and Free Movement of Services (EU Exit) Regulations 2019: To regret that the draft regulations will remove certain economic rights of EU, EEA, Swiss and Turkish nationals in the event of a no-deal Brexit, including to be self-employed or run their own business without additional restriction (non-fatal).

This was defeat number 1 in the parliamentary session.

Breakdown of Votes	For Govt	Against Govt	Total	No vote
Conservative	114	1	115	133
Labour	0	95	95	86
Liberal Democrat	0	68	68	28
Crossbench	11	31	42	146
Bishops	0	2	2	27
Other	7	7	14	38
Total	132	204	336	458

## **Conservative Votes with the Government**

Lord Agnew of Oulton	Lord Ahmad of Wimbledon	Baroness Anelay of St Johns	
Lord Ashton of Hyde	Viscount Astor	Lord Astor of Hever	
Earl Attlee	Lord Balfe	Baroness Barran	
Baroness Berridge	Lord Bethell	Baroness Blackwood of North Oxford	
Lord Blencathra	Baroness Bloomfield of Hinton	Lord Borwick	
Lord Brabazon of Tara	Lord Bridges of Headley	Lord Brougham and Vaux	
Baroness Browning	Lord Brownlow of Shurlock Row	Baroness Byford	
Earl Caithness	Earl Cathcart	Baroness Chalker of Wallasey	
Baroness Chisholm of Owlpen	Lord Colgrain	Lord Colwyn	
Lord Cope of Berkeley	Earl Courtown	Lord Crathorne	
Lord Davies of Gower	Lord De Mauley	Lord Deben	
Lord Dixon-Smith	Lord Dobbs	Lord Duncan of Springbank	
Earl Dundee	Baroness Eaton	Lord Elton	
Baroness Evans of Bowes Park	Baroness Fairhead	Lord Finkelstein	
Baroness Finn	Lord Framlingham	Lord Gardiner of Kimble	
Lord Garel-Jones	Lord Geddes	Lord Gilbert of Panteg	
Lord Glenarthur	Baroness Goldie	Lord Goodlad	
Lord Grade of Yarmouth	Viscount Hailsham	Lord Haselhurst	
Lord Hayward	Lord Henley	Lord Holmes of Richmond	
Baroness Hooper	Earl Howe	Lord Hunt of Wirral	

Lord James of Blackheath Lord Joplina Lord Lamont of Lerwick Lord Lansley Lord Linafield Marguess of Lothian Lord Marlesford Lord McInnes of Kilwinning **Duke of Montrose** Baroness Morris of Bolton Baroness Neville-Jones Baroness Neville-Rolfe Baroness Nicholson of Winterbourne Lord Norton of Louth Lord Parkinson of Whitley Bay Baroness Penn

Lord Popat Lord Porter of Spalding Baroness Redfern Viscount Ridley

Lord Robathan Baroness Sanderson of Welton

Baroness Seccombe Earl Selborne

Baroness Shephard of Northwold Lord Sherbourne of Didsbury Lord Shinkwin Lord Smith of Hindhead Baroness Stedman-Scott Lord Strathclyde Baroness Sugg Lord Tebbit Lord Taylor of Holbeach Lord Trefgarne Lord Tugendhat Baroness Verma Lord Wakeham Lord Waldegrave of North Hill Lord Wei

Lord Young of Cookham **Baroness Wilcox** Baroness Williams of Trafford

Lord Keen of Elie

Earl Lindsay

Lord Mancroft

**Baroness Mever** 

**Baroness Newlove** 

Lord O'Shaughnessy

Lord Randall of Uxbridge

Baroness Scott of Bybrook

Lord Selkirk of Douglas

Lord Movnihan

Lord Pickles

Lord Risby

## Conservative Votes against the Government

**Baroness Wheatcroft** 

#### **Labour Votes with the Government**

# Labour Votes against the Government

Lord Adonis Lord Anderson of Swansea **Baroness Andrews** Baroness Armstrong of Hill Top Lord Bassam of Brighton Lord Beecham Lord Berkeley Lord Blunkett Lord Boateng

Lord Bradley Lord Brooke of Alverthorpe Lord Browne of Ladyton Baroness Bryan of Partick Lord Campbell-Savours Viscount Chandos Lord Clark of Windermere Lord Collins of Highbury **Baroness Crawley** Lord Davies of Oldham Lord Desai Baroness Donaghy Baroness Drake Lord Dubs Lord Faulkner of Worcester Lord Foulkes of Cumnock Baroness Golding **Baroness Goudie** 

Lord Grantchester Lord Griffiths of Burry Port Lord Grocott

Lord Hain Viscount Hanworth Lord Harris of Haringey

Lord Haskel Lord Haworth Baroness Hayter of Kentish Town

Baroness Healy of Primrose Hill Lord Hollick Lord Howarth of Newport Lord Hughes of Woodside Lord Hunt of Kings Heath Lord Hoyle Baroness Jones of Whitchurch Lord Judd Lord Jones

Lord Kennedy of Southwark Baroness Kennedy of Cradley Baroness Kingsmill Baroness Lawrence of Clarendon Lord Lea of Crondall Lord Lennie

Baroness Lister of Burtersett Lord Livermore Lord Liddle Lord Maxton

Lord MacKenzie of Culkein Baroness Massey of Darwen Lord McAvoy Baroness McDonagh Baroness McIntosh of Hudnall

Lord McKenzie of Luton Lord McNicol of West Kilbride Lord Monks

Lord Morgan Lord Morris of Handsworth Baroness Morris of Yardley Lord Morris of Aberavon Lord Murphy of Torfaen Baroness Osamor

Baroness Pitkeathley Lord Pendry Lord Ponsonby of Shulbrede Baroness Prosser Lord Puttnam Baroness Quin

Baroness Rebuck Lord Reid of Cardowan Lord Robertson of Port Ellen

Lord Rooker Lord Sawyer Baroness Sherlock Baroness Smith of Basildon Baroness Smith of Gilmorehill Lord Soley

Lord Stevenson of Balmacara Baroness Taylor of Bolton Lord Tomlinson Lord Touhia Lord Tunnicliffe Lord Turnberg

Baroness Warwick of Undercliffe Lord Watson of Invergowrie **Baroness Wheeler** 

Baroness Whitaker Lord Whitty

### **Liberal Democrat Votes with the Government**

Liberal Democrat Votes against the Government

Lord Addington Baroness Bakewell of Hardington Baroness Barker

Mandeville

Lord Beith Baroness Benjamin Baroness Bonham-Carter of Yarnbury

Baroness BrintonLord Bruce of BennachieLord BurnettLord Campbell of PittenweemLord ChidgeyLord Clement-JonesLord CotterLord DholakiaBaroness Doocey

Baroness Featherstone Lord Foster of Bath Lord Fox

Lord GermanEarl GlasgowLord Goddard of StockportLord GreavesBaroness Harris of RichmondBaroness HumphreysLord HussainBaroness Hussein-EceBaroness JankeBaroness JollyLord Jones of CheltenhamBaroness Kramer

Lord Lee of Trafford Baroness Maddock Lord Marks of Henley-on-Thames

Lord Newby Baroness Northover Lord Oates

Lord PaddickLord Palmer of Childs HillBaroness ParminterBaroness PinnockLord Purvis of TweedBaroness RandersonLord RedesdaleLord RennardLord Rodgers of Quarry Bank

Baroness Scott of Needham Market Lord Sharkey Baroness Sheehan

Lord Shipley Lord Shutt of Greetland Lord Stoneham of Droxford

Lord Storey Lord Strasburger Lord Stunell

Baroness SuttieLord TaverneLord Taylor of Goss MoorLord TeversonBaroness Thomas of WinchesterBaroness ThornhillLord TopeLord TylerBaroness Tyler of Enfield

Lord Wallace of Saltaire Baroness Walmsley Lord Watson of Richmond

Lord Willis of Knaresborough Lord Wrigglesworth

**Crossbench Votes with the Government** 

Earl Cork and Orrery

Baroness Deech

Lord Greenway

Lord Houghton of Richmond

Lord Loomba

Earl Lytton

Viscount Craigavon

Lord Houghton of Richmond

Lord St John of Bletso

Lord Thurlow Lord Woolf

**Crossbench Votes against the Government** 

Lord Aberdare Lord Anderson of Ipswich Lord Bilimoria

Lord Brown of Eaton-under-Heywood Baroness Bull Baroness Campbell of Surbiton
Earl Clancarty Viscount Falkland Lord Hannay of Chiswick

Baroness Howe of Idlicote Lord Hope of Craighead Lord Hylton Lord Kakkar Lord Kerslake Lord Judge Farl Listowel Lord Laming Lord Low of Dalston Lord Mair Lord Macpherson of Earl's Court Baroness O'Loan Baroness O'Neill of Bengarve Lord Pannick Lord Patel Baroness Prashar Earl Sandwich **Duke of Somerset** 

Baroness Stern Lord Stevens of Kirkwhelpington Lord Walker of Gestingthorpe

Viscount Waverley

**Bishop Votes with the Government** 

**Bishop Votes against the Government** 

Bishop of Bristol Bishop of Salisbury

Other Votes with the Government

Lord Browne of Belmont Lord Empey Lord McCrea Magherafelt and

Cookstown

Lord Morrow Lord Prior of Brampton Lord Rogan

Lord Taylor of Warwick

Other Votes against the Government Baroness Bennett of Manor Castle Lord Bhatia Lord Cashman Lord Lipsey Lord Wigley

Baroness Blackstone Lord Truscott

Ref: 2240