Government Defeat in Lords on Judicial Review and Courts Bill

Thursday 31/03/2022

On 31/03/2022 the government had a defeat in the House of Lords on an amendment to the Judicial Review and Courts Bill: To remove a presumption that suspended or prospective-only quashing orders should be made if they are deemed to offer adequate redress in a case unless there is a good reason not to, in preference to an ordinary quashing order.

This was defeat number 105 in the parliamentary session.

Breakdown of Votes	For Govt	Against Govt	Total	No vote
Conservative	127	0	127	130
Labour	0	76	76	92
Liberal Democrat	0	51	51	33
Crossbench	3	26	29	151
Bishops	0	0	0	26
Other	4	6	10	40
Total	134	159	293	472

Conservative Votes with the Government

Lord Ahmad of Wimbledon	Lord Altrincham	Baroness Anelay of St Johns	
Farl Arran	Lord Ashton of Hyde	Farl Attlee	
Lord Balfe	Baroness Barran	Lord Bellingham	
		Baroness Bertin	
Lord Berlyon	Baroness Berridge		
Lord Bethell	Baroness Blackwood of North Oxford	Lord Blencathra	
Baroness Bloomfield of Hinton Waldrist	Lord Borwick	Lord Bourne of Aberystwyth	
Lord Brabazon of Tara	Baroness Brady	Lord Bridges of Headley	
Lord Brownlow of Shurlock Row	Baroness Buscombe	Lord Caine	
Earl Caithness	Lord Callanan	Baroness Chisholm of Owlpen	
Lord Colgrain	Lord Colwyn	Lord Cormack	
Earl Courtown	Lord Crathorne	Lord Cruddas	
Lord Davies of Gower	Lord Deben	Lord Duncan of Springbank	
Earl Dundee	Lord Dunlop	Baroness Eaton	
Baroness Eccles of Moulton	Baroness Evans of Bowes Park	Baroness Fall	
Baroness Fleet	Lord Flight	Lord Framlingham	
Baroness Fraser of Craigmaddie	Lord Frost	Baroness Fullbrook	
Baroness Goldie	Lord Goldsmith of Richmond Park	Lord Goodlad	
Lord Griffiths of Fforestfach	Baroness Harding of Winscombe	Lord Harlech	
Lord Harrington of Watford	Lord Haselhurst	Lord Hayward	
Lord Henley	Baroness Hodgson of Abinger	Lord Holmes of Richmond	
Baroness Hooper	Lord Horam	Earl Howe	
Lord Hunt of Wirral	Baroness Jenkin of Kennington	Lord Johnson of Marylebone	
Lord Jopling	Lord Kamall	Lord King of Bridgwater	
Lord Kirkham	Lord Kirkhope of Harrogate	Earl Leicester	
Lord Leigh of Hurley	Lord Lexden	Lord Lingfield	
Lord Livingston of Parkhead	Lord Mancroft	Baroness Manzoor	
Lord Marland	Lord McColl of Dulwich	Baroness Meyer	
Baroness Morgan of Cotes	Lord Moylan	Baroness Neville-Rolfe	
Baroness Nicholson of Winterbourne	Baroness Noakes	Lord Northbrook	

Lord Offord of Garvel Lord Parkinson of Whitley Bay

Lord Pickles Lord Polak

Lord Porter of Spalding Lord Randall of Uxbridge Lord Reay Baroness Redfern Lord Robathan Lord Sandhurst Baroness Scott of Bybrook Baroness Seccombe Lord Sherbourne of Didsbury Lord Shinkwin

Lord Stewart of Dirleton Baroness Stowell of Beeston

Baroness Sugg Lord Suri

Lord Trefgarne Viscount Trenchard Baroness Vere of Norbiton Baroness Verma Lord Wei Lord Willetts Lord Wolfson of Tredegar Baroness Wyld

Viscount Younger of Leckie

Conservative Votes against the Government

Lord Popat **Baroness Rawlings** Lord Risby Lord Sassoon

Baroness Penn

Lord Sharpe of Epsom Baroness Stedman-Scott

Lord Strathcarron Lord Taylor of Holbeach Lord Udny-Lister Lord Wasserman

Baroness Williams of Trafford Lord Young of Cookham

Labour Votes with the Government

Labour Votes against the Government

Lord Anderson of Swansea Baroness Armstrong of Hill Top Lord Bach Lord Bassam of Brighton Lord Berkeley Baroness Blower Lord Boateng Lord Bradley Lord Bragg

Lord Campbell-Savours Lord Brooke of Alverthorpe Lord Browne of Ladyton Lord Cashman Baroness Chakrabarti Viscount Chandos Lord Coaker **Baroness Corston** Lord Collins of Highbury Lord Davies of Brixton Baroness Drake Baroness Donaghy

Lord Faulkner of Worcester Lord Dubs Lord Flder

Lord Foulkes of Cumnock Lord Grocott **Baroness Golding** Lord Hain Viscount Hanworth Lord Haskel Baroness Healy of Primrose Hill Baroness Hayman of Ullock Lord Hendy

Baroness Henig Lord Howarth of Newport Baroness Jay of Paddington Lord Jones Baroness Jones of Whitchurch Lord Kennedy of Southwark

Baroness Lawrence of Clarendon Lord Liddle Baroness Lister of Burtersett Lord Maxton Lord McAvoy Baroness McIntosh of Hudnall

Lord McNicol of West Kilbride Baroness Merron Lord Monks Baroness Osamor Lord Morgan Lord Murphy of Torfaen

Lord Pendry **Baroness Pitkeathley** Lord Ponsonby of Shulbrede Baroness Ramsay of Cartvale Baroness Rebuck Lord Reid of Cardowan Lord Robertson of Port Ellen Lord Rooker Lord Rosser

Baroness Sherlock Lord Sikka Baroness Smith of Basildon

Lord Snape Viscount Stansgate Baroness Symons of Vernham Dean

Lord Triesman Lord Tunnicliffe Lord Turnberg

Baroness Wheeler Lord Whitty Baroness Wilcox of Newport Lord Winston Lord Wood of Anfield Lord Young of Norwood Green

Baroness Young of Old Scone

Liberal Democrat Votes with the Government

Liberal Democrat Votes against the Government

Lord Addington Lord Alderdice Lord Allan of Hallam Baroness Bakewell of Hardington Baroness Barker Baroness Brinton

Mandeville Lord Bruce of Bennachie Baroness Burt of Solihull Lord Campbell of Pittenweem

Lord Clement-Jones Lord Dholakia Baroness Featherstone Lord Foster of Bath Lord Fox Baroness Garden of Frognal Lord German Lord Goddard of Stockport Baroness Grender

Baroness Hamwee Baroness Harris of Richmond Baroness Humphreys Lord Hussain Baroness Hussein-Ece Lord Jones of Cheltenham

Baroness Kramer Lord Marks of Henley-on-Thames Lord Newby **Baroness Northover** Lord Paddick Lord Oates

Lord Palmer of Childs Hill Baroness Parminter Baroness Pinnock

Lord Redesdale Lord Rennard Baroness Scott of Needham Market

Lord Scriven Baroness Sheehan Lord Shipley
Baroness Smith of Newnham Lord Storey Lord Strasburger

Lord Stunell Baroness Suttie Baroness Thomas of Winchester

Lord Thomas of Gresford Viscount Thurso Lord Tope

Baroness Tyler of Enfield Lord Wallace of Saltaire Baroness Walmsley

Crossbench Votes with the Government

Lord Brown of Eaton-under-Heywood Lord Dannatt Baroness Deech

Crossbench Votes against the Government

Lord AberdareLord Alton of LiverpoolBaroness BoycottEarl ClancartyViscount Colville of CulrossViscount CraigavonBaroness D'SouzaLord EthertonLord Hannay of ChiswickBaroness Hunt of Bethnal GreenLord JudgeLord Kerr of Kinlochard

Earl Kinnoull Lord Low of Dalston Lord Macpherson of Earl's Court

Baroness Masham of Ilton Lord Mawson Baroness O'Loan Lord Ramsbotham Lord Russell of Liverpool Lord Sentamu

Lord St John of Bletso Lord Thomas of Cwmgiedd Lord Trevethin and Oaksey

Baroness Watkins of Tavistock Baroness Wheatcroft

Bishop Votes with the Government

Bishop Votes against the Government

Other Votes with the Government

Lord Dodds of Duncairn Lord Gadhia Lord Rogan

Lord Tyrie

Other Votes against the Government

Baroness Bennett of Manor Castle Baroness Blackstone Lord Desai

Baroness Jones of Moulsecoomb Baroness Kennedy of Cradley Lord Smith of Finsbury

Ref: 2582