Government Defeat in Lords on Judicial Review and Courts Bill

Thursday 31/03/2022

On 31/03/2022 the government had a defeat in the House of Lords on an amendment to the Judicial Review and Courts Bill: To remove a clause that would have abolished "Cart" judicial review (JR) and insert a clause limiting the right to appeal a Cart JR to the High Court, unless on a point of law of public importance with permission to appeal granted by the Supreme Court.

This was defeat number 106 in the parliamentary session.

Breakdown of Votes	For Govt	Against Govt	Total	No vote
Conservative	123	0	123	134
Labour	0	71	71	97
Liberal Democrat	0	48	48	36
Crossbench	4	20	24	157
Bishops	0	1	1	25
Other	5	6	11	39
Total	132	146	278	488

Conservative Votes with the Government

Baroness Nicholson of Winterbourne

Lord Ahmad of Wimbledon Lord Altrincham Baroness Anelay of St Johns Lord Ashton of Hyde Lord Balfe Baroness Barran Lord Bellingham Lord Benyon Baroness Berridge **Baroness Bertin** Lord Bethell Baroness Blackwood of North Oxford Lord Blencathra Baroness Bloomfield of Hinton Lord Borwick Waldrist Lord Brabazon of Tara Lord Bourne of Aberystwyth Baroness Brady Baroness Buscombe Lord Brougham and Vaux Lord Brownlow of Shurlock Row Lord Caine Lord Callanan Baroness Chisholm of Owlpen Lord Colgrain Lord Colwyn Lord Cormack Earl Courtown Lord Crathorne Lord Cruddas Baroness Cumberlege Lord Davies of Gower Lord Deben Lord Duncan of Springbank Earl Dundee Lord Dunlop **Baroness Eaton** Baroness Eccles of Moulton Baroness Evans of Bowes Park Baroness Fall **Baroness Fleet** Lord Flight Lord Framlingham Baroness Fullbrook Baroness Goldie Lord Goldsmith of Richmond Park Lord Goodlad Lord Greenhalgh Lord Griffiths of Fforestfach Baroness Harding of Winscombe Lord Harlech Lord Harrington of Watford Lord Haselhurst Lord Hayward Lord Henley Lord Hill of Oareford Baroness Hodgson of Abinger Lord Holmes of Richmond Baroness Hooper Lord Horam Earl Howe Lord Hunt of Wirral Lord Johnson of Marylebone Lord Jopling Lord Kamall

Lord King of Bridgwater Lord Kirkham Lord Kirkhope of Harrogate
Earl Leicester Lord Leigh of Hurley Lord Lexden

Lord Northbrook

Earl LeicesterLord Leigh of HurleyLord LexdenLord LilleyLord LingfieldEarl LiverpoolLord Livingston of ParkheadLord MancroftBaroness ManzoorLord MarlandLord McColl of DulwichBaroness MeyerBaroness Morgan of CotesLord MoylanLord Moynihan

Baroness Noakes

Lord Offord of Garvel Lord Parkinson of Whitley Bay

Lord Pickles Lord Polak

Lord Porter of Spalding
Lord Randall of Uxbridge
Lord Reay
Baroness Redfern
Lord Robathan
Lord Sandhurst
Baroness Scott of Bybrook
Baroness Seccombe
Lord Sherbourne of Didsbury
Lord Shinkwin

Lord Stewart of DirletonBaroness Stowell of BeestonBaroness SuggLord SuriLord Taylor of HolbeachLord Udny-Lister

Baroness Vere of Norbiton Baroness Verma Lord Wei

Lord Willetts Baroness Williams of Trafford Lord Wolfson of Tredegar
Baroness Wyld Lord Young of Cookham Viscount Younger of Leckie

Baroness Penn

Baroness Rawlings

Lord Sharpe of Epsom

Baroness Stedman-Scott

Lord Popat

Lord Risby

Lord Sassoon

Conservative Votes against the Government

Labour Votes with the Government

Labour Votes against the Government

Lord Anderson of SwanseaBaroness Armstrong of Hill TopLord BachLord Bassam of BrightonLord BerkeleyBaroness BlowerLord BlunkettLord BoatengLord Bradley

Lord Brooke of AlverthorpeLord Browne of LadytonLord Campbell-SavoursLord CashmanBaroness ChakrabartiViscount ChandosLord CoakerLord Collins of HighburyBaroness CorstonLord Davies of BrixtonBaroness DonaghyBaroness Drake

Lord Dubs Lord Elder Lord Foulkes of Cumnock

Baroness GoldingLord GrocottLord HackingLord HainViscount HanworthLord HaskelBaroness Hayman of UllockBaroness Healy of Primrose HillLord Hendy

Baroness Hayman of Ullock Baroness Healy of Primrose Hill Lord Hendy

Baroness Henig Lord Howarth of Newport Baroness Jay of Paddington

Baroness Jones of Whitchurch Lord Kennedy of Southwark Baroness Lawrence of Clarendon Lord Lord Maxton Lord McAyov

Lord Liddle Lord Maxton Lord McAvoy

Baroness McIntosh of Hudnall Lord McNicol of West Kilbride Baroness Merron

Lord Monks Lord Morgan Lord Murphy of Torfaen
Baroness Osamor Lord Pendry Lord Ponsonby of Shulbrede
Baroness Ramsay of Cartvale Baroness Rebuck Lord Reid of Cardowan
Lord Robertson of Port Ellen Lord Rosser Baroness Sherlock

Lord Young of Norwood Green

Lord Sikka Baroness Smith of Basildon Lord Snape
Viscount Stansgate Baroness Symons of Vernham Dean Lord Tunnicliffe
Lord Turnberg Baroness Wheeler Lord Whitty

Baroness Wilcox of Newport Lord Winston Lord Wood of Anfield

Liberal Democrat Votes against the Government

Liberal Democrat Votes with the Government

Baroness Young of Old Scone

Lord Alderdice Lord Allan of Hallam Baroness Bakewell of Hardington

Mandeville

Baroness Barker Baroness Brinton Lord Bruce of Bennachie
Baroness Burt of Solihull Lord Campbell of Pittenweem Lord Dholakia

Baroness FeatherstoneLord Foster of BathLord FoxBaroness Garden of FrognalLord GermanLord Goddard of StockportBaroness GrenderBaroness HamweeBaroness Harris of RichmondBaroness HumphreysLord HussainBaroness Hussein-Ece

Lord Jones of Cheltenham Baroness Kramer Lord Marks of Henley-on-Thames
Lord Newby Baroness Northover Lord Oates

Lord NewbyBaroness NorthoverLord OatesLord PaddickBaroness ParminterBaroness PinnockLord RedesdaleLord RennardLord Scriven

Baroness Sheehan Lord Shipley Baroness Smith of Newnham

Lord Stoneham of Droxford Lord Storey Lord Strasburger

Lord Stunell Baroness Suttie Lord Thomas of Gresford

Baroness Thomas of Winchester Viscount Thurso Lord Tope

Baroness Tyler of Enfield Lord Wallace of Saltaire Baroness Walmsley

Crossbench Votes with the Government

Lord Berkeley of Knighton Lord Brown of Eaton-under-Heywood Baroness Deech

Lord Judge

Crossbench Votes against the Government

Baroness Boycott Lord Aberdare Lord Alton of Liverpool Earl Clancarty Viscount Colville of Culross Baroness D'Souza Lord Etherton Lord Hannay of Chiswick Lord Kerr of Kinlochard Earl Kinnoull Lord Loomba Lord Low of Dalston Baroness Masham of Ilton Baroness O'Loan Lord Ramsbotham Lord Russell of Liverpool Lord Sentamu Lord St John of Bletso

Lord Trevethin and Oaksey Lord Woolf

Bishop Votes with the Government

Bishop Votes against the Government

Bishop of Worcester

Other Votes with the Government

Lord Dodds of Duncairn Lord Faulks Lord Gadhia

Lord Rogan Lord Taylor of Warwick

Other Votes against the Government

Baroness Bennett of Manor Castle Baroness Blackstone Lord Desai

Baroness Jones of Moulsecoomb Baroness Kennedy of Cradley Lord Smith of Finsbury

Ref: 2583