# Government Defeat in Lords on Nationality and Borders Bill

# Monday 04/04/2022

On 04/04/2022 the government had a defeat in the House of Lords on an amendment to the Nationality and Borders Bill: To insist on removing provisions criminalising any attempt to knowingly help asylum seekers arrive in the UK, but to criminalise attempts to help without reasonable excuse, rather than for gain.

This was defeat number 117 in the parliamentary session.

Breakdown of Votes	For Govt	Against Govt	Total	No vote
Conservative	134	0	134	123
Labour	0	78	78	90
Liberal Democrat	0	52	52	32
Crossbench	2	19	21	159
Bishops	0	2	2	24
Other	5	11	16	34
Total	141	162	303	462

#### Conservative Votes with the Government

Baroness Altmann Lord Altrincham Baroness Anelay of St Johns Lord Ashton of Hyde Farl Attlee Lord Balfe Lord Bellingham Baroness Barran Lord Benyon Lord Blackwell Lord Blencathra Baroness Berridge Baroness Bloomfield of Hinton Lord Borwick Baroness Bottomley of Nettlestone Lord Brownlow of Shurlock Row Lord Caine Baroness Brady Lord Carrington of Fulham Baroness Chisholm of Owlpen Lord Callanan Lord Choudrey Lord Cormack Earl Courtown Lord Cruddas Baroness Cumberlege Lord Davies of Gower Lord De Mauley Lord Dobbs Lord Deben Lord Duncan of Springbank Lord Dunlop Baroness Faton Baroness Evans of Bowes Park Viscount Eccles Baroness Eccles of Moulton Lord Fairfax of Cameron Lord Farmer Baroness Fleet Baroness Foster of Oxton Baroness Fookes Lord Forsyth of Drumlean Lord Framlingham Lord Frost Lord Glendonbrook Lord Goldsmith of Richmond Park Lord Godson Baroness Goldie Lord Goodlad Lord Greenhalgh Lord Hannan of Kingsclere Baroness Harding of Winscombe Lord Harlech Lord Harrington of Watford Lord Haselhurst Lord Hayward Baroness Helic Lord Hill of Oareford Baroness Hodgson of Abinger Lord Hodgson of Astley Abbotts Lord Holmes of Richmond Baroness Hooper Lord Horam Lord Howard of Rising Lord Howard of Lympne Earl Howe Lord Hunt of Wirral Baroness Jenkin of Kennington Lord Johnson of Marylebone

Lord Howard of Rising
Lord Howard of Lympne
Lord Hunt of Wirral
Baroness Jenkin of Kennington
Lord Johnson of Marylebone
Lord Lamont of Lerwick
Lord Lamont of Lerwick
Lord Leigh of Hurley
Lord Lexden
Lord Lindfield
Lord Livingston of Parkhead
Lord Mancroft

Baroness Manzoor Lord McColl of Dulwich Lord McInnes of Kilwinning Lord McLoughlin Lord Mendoza Baroness Meyer Lord Moylan Lord Moynihan Baroness Neville-Jones

Baroness Neville-Rolfe Baroness Noakes

Lord Offord of Garvel

Baroness Penn

Lord Pickles

Lord Polak

Lord Popat

Lord Price Lord Randall of Uxbridge

Lord Ribeiro Lord Risby
Baroness Sanderson of Welton Lord Sandhurst

Baroness Sater Baroness Scott of Bybrook
Lord Sheikh Lord Sherbourne of Didsbury
Lord Smith of Hindhead Baroness Stedman-Scott
Baroness Stowell of Beeston Lord Taylor of Holbeach

Lord Udny-Lister Baroness Vere of Norbiton
Lord Wakeham Lord Wei

Lord Willetts Baroness Williams of Trafford
Lord Young of Cookham Viscount Younger of Leckie

Conservative Votes against the Government

#### Labour Votes with the Government

Labour Votes against the Government

Baroness Adams of Craigielea Lord Bach Lord Bassam of Brighton
Baroness Blake of Leeds Baroness Blower Lord Blunkett

Lord Norton of Louth

Lord Porter of Spalding

Baroness Seccombe

Viscount Trenchard

Baroness Verma

Lord Stewart of Dirleton

Lord Wharton of Yarm

Lord Wolfson of Tredegar

**Baroness Pidding** 

Lord Patten

Lord Ranger

Lord Robathan

Lord Sassoon

Lord Shinkwin

Lord Boateng Lord Bradley Lord Browne of Ladyton

Lord Campbell-SavoursLord CashmanBaroness ChakrabartiViscount ChandosBaroness Chapman of DarlingtonLord Clark of WindermereLord CoakerBaroness Cohen of PimlicoLord Collins of Highbury

Baroness Cone of Pimilco Lord Collins of Highbur
Baroness Corston Lord Davidson of Glen Clova Lord Davies of Brixton
Baroness Donaghy Baroness Drake Lord Dubs

Lord EatwellLord Foulkes of CumnockBaroness GoldingLord GrantchesterLord Griffiths of Burry PortLord GrocottLord HackingLord HainViscount Hanworth

Lord Harris of Haringey

Baroness Hayman of Ullock

Baroness Hayter of Kentish Town

Lord Howarth of Newport

Lord Hunt of Kings Heath

Lord Jones Lord Kennedy of Southwark Lord Khan of Burnley
Baroness Lawrence of Clarendon Lord Layard Lord Lennie

Baroness Lister of Burtersett Baroness Mallalieu Lord Maxton

Lord McAvoy Lord McConnell of Glenscorrodale Baroness McIntosh of Hudnall

Lord McNicol of West KilbrideBaroness MerronLord MorganLord Murphy of TorfaenBaroness NyeBaroness Osamor

Lord Ponsonby of Shulbrede Baroness Primarolo Baroness Ramsay of Cartvale
Lord Reid of Cardowan Baroness Ritchie of Downpatrick Lord Robertson of Port Ellen

Lord Rooker Lord Rosser Baroness Sherlock

Lord SikkaBaroness Smith of BasildonViscount StansgateLord TouhigLord TunnicliffeLord Watson of InvergowrieLord WattsBaroness WheelerBaroness Wilcox of Newport

Lord Wood of Anfield Lord Young of Norwood Green Baroness Young of Old Scone

## Liberal Democrat Votes with the Government

Liberal Democrat Votes against the Government

Lord Addington Lord Allan of Hallam Baroness Bakewell of Hardington Mandeville

Baroness Barker Baroness Bowles of Berkhamsted Baroness Brinton

Lord Bruce of Bennachie Baroness Burt of Solihull Lord Campbell of Pittenweem

Lord Clement-Jones Lord Dholakia Lord Foster of Bath
Lord Fox Baroness Garden of Frognal Lord German

Baroness Grender Baroness Hamwee Baroness Harris of Richmond

Baroness Humphreys Baroness Hussein-Ece Baroness Jolly
Lord Jones of Cheltenham Baroness Kramer Lord Lee of Trafford
Baroness Ludford Lord Marks of Henley-on-Thames Lord McNally

Baroness Miller of Chilthorne DomerLord NewbyBaroness NorthoverLord OatesLord PaddickBaroness ParminterBaroness PinnockLord Purvis of TweedLord Redesdale

Lord Rennard Lord Roberts of Llandudno Baroness Scott of Needham Market

Lord Scriven Baroness Sheehan Lord Stoneham of Droxford Lord Storey Lord Strasburger Lord Stunell

Baroness Suttie Lord Teverson Lord Thomas of Gresford
Baroness Thomas of Winchester Lord Tope Baroness Tyler of Enfield

**Baroness Walmsley** 

## **Crossbench Votes with the Government**

Lord Aberdare Viscount Brookeborough

#### **Crossbench Votes against the Government**

Lord Alton of Liverpool Baroness Boycott Lord Brown of Eaton-under-Heywood

Baroness BullLord Butler of BrockwellBaroness CoussinsLord CromwellBaroness D'SouzaBaroness Finlay of LlandaffLord Hannay of ChiswickBaroness HaymanBaroness Hunt of Bethnal Green

Lord HyltonLord Kerr of KinlochardLord KerslakeBaroness Masham of IltonLord McDonald of SalfordBaroness Meacher

Lord Thomas of Cwmgiedd

#### **Bishop Votes with the Government**

#### **Bishop Votes against the Government**

Bishop of Bristol Bishop of Durham

#### Other Votes with the Government

Lord Dodds of Duncairn Lord Empey Lord Faulks

Lord Gadhia Baroness Hoey

# Other Votes against the Government

Baroness Bennett of Manor Castle Baroness Blackstone Baroness Jones of Moulsecoomb

Baroness Kennedy of Cradley Lord Mackenzie of Framwellgate Lord Morrow

Lord Smith of Finsbury Lord Taylor of Warwick Lord Tyrie Ref: 2594

Baroness Uddin Lord Wigley