Government Defeat in Lords on Health and Care Bill

Tuesday 05/04/2022

On 05/04/2022 the government had a defeat in the House of Lords on an amendment to the Health and Care Bill: To not insist on inserting a clause requiring that that procurement for the health service in England is consistent with the UK's genocide convention obligations, but to insert a different clause requiring that procurement avoids modern slavery.

Breakdown of Votes	For Govt	Against Govt	Total	No vote
Conservative	132	8	140	117
Labour	0	82	82	87
Liberal Democrat	0	53	53	31
Crossbench	0	25	25	156
Bishops	0	0	0	26
Other	3	9	12	38
Total	135	177	312	455

This was defeat number 122 in the parliamentary session.

Conservative Votes with the Government

Conservative votes with the Gov	ernment	
Lord Agnew of Oulton	Lord Altrincham	Baroness Anelay of St Johns
Lord Ashton of Hyde	Lord Astor of Hever	Earl Attlee
Baroness Barran	Lord Bellingham	Lord Benyon
Lord Blackwell	Baroness Blackwood of North Oxford	Baroness Bloomfield of Hinton Waldrist
Lord Borwick	Baroness Bottomley of Nettlestone	Lord Bourne of Aberystwyth
Baroness Brady	Lord Brownlow of Shurlock Row	Baroness Buscombe
Lord Caine	Earl Caithness	Lord Callanan
Lord Carrington of Fulham	Baroness Chisholm of Owlpen	Lord Choudrey
Earl Courtown	Lord Crathorne	Lord Cruddas
Lord Davies of Gower	Lord De Mauley	Lord Deben
Lord Deighton	Lord Dobbs	Lord Duncan of Springbank
Earl Dundee	Lord Dunlop	Baroness Eaton
Baroness Eccles of Moulton	Viscount Eccles	Baroness Evans of Bowes Park
Lord Fairfax of Cameron	Baroness Fall	Lord Farmer
Baroness Fookes	Lord Forsyth of Drumlean	Baroness Foster of Oxton
Lord Frost	Lord Garnier	Lord Glendonbrook
Lord Godson	Lord Gold	Baroness Goldie
Lord Goodlad	Lord Greenhalgh	Lord Hamilton of Epsom
Lord Hannan of Kingsclere	Baroness Harding of Winscombe	Lord Harlech
Lord Haselhurst	Lord Hayward	Baroness Helic
Lord Henley	Lord Herbert of South Downs	Lord Hodgson of Astley Abbotts
Lord Holmes of Richmond	Baroness Hooper	Lord Horam
Earl Howe	Lord Howell of Guildford	Lord Hunt of Wirral
Lord James of Blackheath	Baroness Jenkin of Kennington	Lord Johnson of Marylebone
Lord Jopling	Lord Kamall	Lord Kirkham
Lord Lamont of Lerwick	Lord Lancaster of Kimbolton	Lord Lansley
Earl Leicester	Lord Leigh of Hurley	Lord Lexden
Lord Lilley	Earl Lindsay	Lord Mancroft
Baroness Manzoor	Lord McInnes of Kilwinning	Lord McLoughlin

Baroness Meyer	Baroness Morgan of Cotes	Lord Moynihan
Lord Naseby	Baroness Neville-Rolfe	Baroness Noakes
Lord Northbrook	Lord Norton of Louth	Lord Offord of Garvel
Lord Parkinson of Whitley Bay	Lord Patten	Baroness Penn
Baroness Pidding	Lord Popat	Lord Porter of Spalding
Lord Price	Lord Randall of Uxbridge	Lord Robathan
Baroness Sanderson of Welton	Lord Sandhurst	Baroness Sater
Baroness Scott of Bybrook	Baroness Seccombe	Baroness Shackleton
Lord Sherbourne of Didsbury	Lord Smith of Hindhead	Lord Spencer of Alresf
Baroness Stedman-Scott	Lord Sterling of Plaistow	Lord Stewart of Dirleto
Baroness Stowell of Beeston	Lord Taylor of Holbeach	Lord Tugendhat
Lord Udny-Lister	Baroness Vere of Norbiton	Baroness Verma
Lord Wakeham	Lord Wei	Lord Wharton of Yarm
Lord Whitby	Lord Willetts	Baroness Williams of
Lord Wolfson of Tredegar	Lord Young of Cookham	Viscount Younger of L
Conservative Votes against the C	Government	

Lord Balfe Lord Framlingham Lord Shinkwin

than Sater Shackleton of Belgravia er of Alresford art of Dirleton ndhat /erma ton of Yarm Villiams of Trafford ounger of Leckie

of Spalding

Lord Blencathra Baroness Hodgson of Abinger

Labour Votes with the Government

Baroness Altmann

Lord Cormack

Lord Ribeiro

Labour Votes against the Government

Baroness Adams of Craigielea Lord Bach Baroness Blower Lord Bradley Lord Campbell-Savours Lord Clark of Windermere Lord Davidson of Glen Clova **Baroness Drake** Lord Glasman Lord Grocott Lord Harris of Haringey Baroness Healy of Primrose Hill Lord Hunt of Kings Heath Lord Kennedy of Southwark Baroness Lawrence of Clarendon Baroness Lister of Burtersett Lord McConnell of Glenscorrodale **Baroness Merron** Lord Murphy of Torfaen Lord Parekh **Baroness Primarolo** Baroness Ritchie of Downpatrick **Baroness Sherlock** Viscount Stansgate Lord Triesman Lord Watson of Invergowrie **Baroness Whitaker** Baroness Young of Old Scone

Lord Anderson of Swansea Lord Bassam of Brighton Lord Blunkett Lord Brooke of Alverthorpe Baroness Chakrabarti Lord Collins of Highbury Lord Davies of Brixton Lord Dubs **Baroness Golding** Lord Hacking Baroness Hayman of Ullock **Baroness Henig** Baroness Jay of Paddington Lord Khan of Burnley Lord Layard I ord Maxton Baroness McIntosh of Hudnall Baroness Morgan of Huyton **Baroness Nye** Lord Pendry Baroness Ramsay of Cartvale Lord Rooker Baroness Smith of Basildon Baroness Thornton Lord Tunnicliffe Lord Watts Baroness Wilcox of Newport

Baroness Armstrong of Hill Top Baroness Blake of Leeds Lord Boateng Lord Browne of Ladyton Viscount Chandos **Baroness Corston Baroness Donaghy** Lord Foulkes of Cumnock Lord Grantchester I ord Hain Baroness Hayter of Kentish Town Lord Howarth of Newport Lord Jordan Baroness Kingsmill Lord Liddle Lord McAvoy Lord McNicol of West Kilbride Lord Morris of Aberavon Baroness Osamor Lord Ponsonby of Shulbrede Lord Reid of Cardowan Lord Rosser Lord Snape Lord Touhig Baroness Warwick of Undercliffe Baroness Wheeler Lord Wood of Anfield

Liberal Democrat Votes with the Government

Liberal Democrat Votes again	st the Government
Lord Addington	Lord Allan of Hallam

Baroness Barker Baroness Brinton Lord Clement-Jones **Baroness Benjamin** Lord Bruce of Bennachie

Lord Dholakia

Baroness Bakewell of Hardington Mandeville Baroness Bonham-Carter of Yarnbury Lord Campbell of Pittenweem **Baroness Featherstone**

Lord German Lord Fox Baroness Grender **Baroness Humphreys** Lord Jones of Cheltenham Lord Marks of Henley-on-Thames Lord McNally Lord Newby Lord Oates Lord Palmer of Childs Hill Lord Purvis of Tweed Lord Razzall Lord Rennard Lord Sharkey Lord Stoneham of Droxford Lord Storey Lord Stunell Baroness Thomas of Winchester Baroness Tyler of Enfield

Baroness Hamwee Baroness Hussein-Ece Baroness Kramer **Baroness Parminter** Lord Roberts of Llandudno Baroness Sheehan Baroness Suttie Lord Thomas of Gresford **Baroness Walmsley**

Lord Goddard of Stockport Baroness Harris of Richmond **Baroness Jolly** Baroness Ludford Baroness Miller of Chilthorne Domer Lord Paddick **Baroness Pinnock** Lord Redesdale Lord Scriven Lord Shipley Lord Strasburger Lord Teverson Lord Tope

Crossbench Votes with the Government

Crossbench Votes against the Government

· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·		
Lord Adebowale	Lord Alton of Liverpool	Lord Bichard
Baroness Bull	Baroness Campbell of Surbiton	Earl Clancarty
Lord Crisp	Baroness Finlay of Llandaff	Lord Greenway
Baroness Grey-Thompson	Baroness Hayman	Lord Hogan-Howe
Baroness Hollins	Lord Kerslake	Lord Kilclooney
Lord Londesborough	Lord Low of Dalston	Earl Lytton
Baroness Masham of Ilton	Baroness Morgan of Drefelin	Lord St John of Bletso
Lord Stevens of Birmingham	Baroness Watkins of Tavistock	Viscount Waverley
Baroness Wheatcroft		

Bishop Votes with the Government

Bishop Votes against the Government

Other Votes with the Government Lord Empey	Lord Faulks	Lord Gadhia		
Other Votes against the Governmer Baroness Bennett of Manor Castle Lord Dodds of Duncairn Lord Morrow	t Baroness Blackstone Baroness Jones of Moulsecoomb Lord Taylor of Warwick	Lord Browne of Belmont Lord Mann Lord Wigley	Ref:	2600