Government Defeat in Lords on Skills and Post-16 Education Bill [HL]

Thursday 21/10/2021

On 21/10/2021 the government had a defeat in the House of Lords on an amendment to the Skills and Post-16 Education Bill [HL]: To insert a new clause providing that any person of any age have the right to free education up to Level 3 if they have not studied at that level, and requiring that employers spend apprenticeship funding on Level 2 and 3 students aged 16-25.

This was defeat number 28 in the parliamentary session.

Breakdown of Votes	For Govt	Against Govt	Total	No vote
Conservative	115	3	118	146
Labour	0	72	72	101
Liberal Democrat	0	32	32	54
Crossbench	0	8	8	180
Bishops	0	2	2	21
Other	1	9	10	45
Total	116	126	242	547

Conservative Votes with the Government

Lord Agnew of Oulton	Baroness Altmann Lord Altrincham		
Baroness Anelay of St Johns	Lord Ashton of Hyde	Lord Astor of Hever	
Earl Attlee	Baroness Barran	Lord Bellingham	
Lord Benyon	Baroness Blackwood of North Oxford	Lord Blencathra	
Baroness Bloomfield of Hinton Waldrist	Lord Borwick	Lord Bourne of Aberystwyth	
Viscount Bridgeman	Lord Bridges of Headley	Lord Brougham and Vaux	
Lord Brownlow of Shurlock Row	Lord Caine	Lord Callanan	
Lord Carrington of Fulham	Baroness Chisholm of Owlpen	Lord Colgrain	
Lord Colwyn	Earl Courtown	Lord Cruddas	
Baroness Davidson of Lundin Links	Lord Deighton	Lord Dobbs	
Lord Duncan of Springbank	Earl Dundee	Baroness Eaton	
Baroness Eccles of Moulton	Viscount Eccles	Baroness Evans of Bowes Park	
Lord Fairfax of Cameron	Baroness Fairhead	Baroness Fleet	
Baroness Foster of Oxton	Baroness Fraser of Craigmaddie	Lord Frost	
Lord Godson	Lord Goldsmith of Richmond Park	Lord Grade of Yarmouth	
Lord Greenhalgh	Lord Grimstone of Boscobel	Lord Hannan of Kingsclere	
Baroness Harding of Winscombe	Lord Harlech	Lord Haselhurst	
Lord Hayward	Lord Herbert of South Downs	Lord Holmes of Richmond	
Baroness Hooper	Lord Horam	Lord Hunt of Wirral	
Baroness Jenkin of Kennington	Lord Jopling	Lord Kamall	
Lord King of Bridgwater	Lord Lancaster of Kimbolton	Lord Lang of Monkton	
Lord Lansley	Lord Leigh of Hurley	Lord Lexden	

Lord LingfieldLord Mackay of ClashfernBaroness ManzoorBaroness McGregor-SmithBaroness Morgan of CotesLord Moylan

Lord Naseby Lord Nash Baroness Neville-Jones

Baroness Neville-Rolfe Lord O'Shaughnessy Lord Parkinson of Whitley Bay Baroness Pidding Lord Popat Lord Randall of Uxbridge

Baroness RawlingsBaroness RedfernLord RibeiroViscount RidleyLord RisbyLord RobathanBaroness Sanderson of WeltonLord SandhurstLord Sarfraz

Lord SassoonBaroness Scott of BybrookBaroness SeccombeLord Selkirk of DouglasBaroness Shackleton of BelgraviaLord Sharpe of EpsomLord SheikhLord Sherbourne of DidsburyLord Smith of Hindhead

Lord Spencer of Alresford Baroness Stedman-Scott Lord Stewart of Dirleton

Baroness Sugg Lord Suri Lord True
Lord Udny-Lister Baroness Vere of Norbiton Baroness Verma
Lord Vinson Lord Wei Lord Wharton of Yarm

Baroness Williams of Trafford Lord Wolfson of Tredegar Lord Young of Cookham Viscount Younger of Leckie

Conservative Votes against the Government

Lord Clarke of Nottingham Lord Cormack Lord Forsyth of Drumlean

Labour Votes with the Government

Labour Votes against the Government

Lord Adonis Lord Alli Lord Anderson of Swansea

Baroness Andrews Baroness Armstrong of Hill Top Lord Berkeley

Baroness Blake of Leeds Lord Bradley Lord Browne of Ladyton
Lord Campbell-Savours Lord Carter of Coles Baroness Chakrabarti
Baroness Chapman of Darlington Lord Coaker Baroness Cohen of Pimlico
Lord Collins of Highbury Baroness Corston Lord Davies of Brixton

Baroness Donaghy Baroness Drake Lord Elder
Lord Falconer of Thoroton Lord Foulkes of Cumnock Baroness Golding
Lord Grantchester Viscount Hanworth Lord Haworth

Baroness Hayman of Ullock Baroness Hayter of Kentish Town Baroness Healy of Primrose Hill

Lord Hendy Baroness Henig Lord Hollick

Lord Howarth of Newport Lord Hunt of Kings Heath Baroness Jones of Whitchurch Lord Jordan Lord Kennedy of Southwark Baroness Lawrence of Clarendon

Lord LayardLord LevyLord LiddleBaroness Lister of BurtersettLord MaxtonLord McAvoy

Lord McConnell of Glenscorrodale Baroness McIntosh of Hudnall Lord McNicol of West Kilbride

Baroness Merron Lord Monks Baroness Osamor

Lord Pendry Baroness Pitkeathley Baroness Prosser
Baroness Quin Baroness Ramsay of Cartvale Baroness Rebuck
Baroness Ritchie of Downpatrick Lord Rosser Baroness Sherlock
Lord Sikka Baroness Smith of Basildon Lord Snape
Viscount Stansgate Baroness Thornton Lord Toubig

Viscount StansgateBaroness ThorntonLord TouhigLord TunnicliffeBaroness Warwick of UndercliffeBaroness Wheeler

Baroness Wilcox of Newport Lord Wood of Anfield Baroness Young of Old Scone

Liberal Democrat Votes with the Government

Liberal Democrat Votes against the Government

Lord Addington Baroness Barker Lord Beith

Baroness Bonham-Carter of Yarnbury Baroness Brinton Lord Chidgey Lord Clement-Jones Baroness Garden of Frognal

Earl Glasgow Baroness Grender Baroness Hamwee

Baroness Harris of Richmond Lord Hussain Lord Jones of Cheltenham

Lord Marks of Henley-on-ThamesLord OatesLord PaddickBaroness ParminterBaroness RandersonLord RazzallLord RennardLord ScrivenBaroness Sheehan

Baroness Smith of Newnham Lord Stoneham of Droxford Lord Storey

Lord Strasburger Lord Stunell Baroness Thomas of Winchester Lord Tope Lord Willis of Knaresborough

Crossbench Votes with the Government

Crossbench Votes against the Government

Lord Alton of Liverpool Lord Berkeley of Knighton Lord Chartres

Viscount Craigavon Baroness Hollins Baroness O'Loan

Lord Ravensdale Lord Woolf

Bishop Votes with the Government

Bishop Votes against the Government

Bishop of Durham Bishop of Manchester

Other Votes with the Government

Lord Rogan

Other Votes against the Government

Baroness Bennett of Manor Castle
Lord Hay of Ballyore
Baroness Kennedy of Cradley
Lord McCrea Magherafelt and
Cookstown

Lord Morrow Lord Taylor of Warwick Lord Wigley Ref: 2461