Government Defeat in Lords on Health and Care Bill Thursday 03/03/2022

On 03/03/2022 the government had a defeat in the House of Lords on an amendment to the Health and Care Bill: To insert a new clause requiring that ministers ensure by regulations that procurement of all goods and services for the health service in England is consistent with the UK's genocide convention obligations.

No vote	Total	Against Govt	For Govt	Breakdown of Votes
164	93	5	88	Conservative
125	43	43	0	Labour
49	35	35	0	Liberal Democrat
158	22	20	2	Crossbench
25	0	0	0	Bishops
44	8	7	1	Other
565	201	110	91	Total
	22 0 8	20 0 7	2 0 1	Crossbench Bishops Other

This was defeat number 78 in the parliamentary session.

Conservative Votes with the Government

Conservative votes with the Government				
Lord Ahmad of Wimbledon	Lord Altrincham	Baroness Anelay of St Johns		
Lord Arbuthnot of Edrom	Baroness Barran	Lord Bellingham		
Lord Benyon	Lord Bethell	Baroness Blackwood of North Oxford		
Baroness Bloomfield of Hinton Waldrist	Lord Borwick	Lord Bourne of Aberystwyth		
Baroness Brady	Lord Bridges of Headley	Lord Caine		
Lord Carrington of Fulham	Baroness Chisholm of Owlpen	Lord Choudrey		
Lord Colgrain	Earl Courtown	Lord Crathorne		
Lord Cruddas	Baroness Cumberlege	Lord De Mauley		
Lord Duncan of Springbank	Baroness Eccles of Moulton	Baroness Evans of Bowes Park		
Baroness Fookes	Lord Framlingham	Baroness Fraser of Craigmaddie		
Lord Frost	Lord Garnier	Lord Godson		
Lord Griffiths of Fforestfach	Lord Grimstone of Boscobel	Lord Herbert of South Downs		
Lord Holmes of Richmond	Lord Horam	Lord Howell of Guildford		
Lord Hunt of Wirral	Baroness Jenkin of Kennington	Lord Kamall		
Lord Lamont of Lerwick	Lord Lancaster of Kimbolton	Earl Leicester		
Lord Leigh of Hurley	Baroness Manzoor	Baroness McIntosh of Pickering		
Lord McLoughlin	Baroness Meyer	Duke of Montrose		
Lord Moynihan	Lord Nash	Baroness Neville-Jones		
Baroness Nicholson of Winterbourne	Lord Offord of Garvel	Lord Parkinson of Whitley Bay		
Baroness Penn	Lord Randall of Uxbridge	Lord Reay		
Lord Risby	Baroness Sanderson of Welton	Lord Sarfraz		
Lord Sassoon	Baroness Sater	Lord Selkirk of Douglas		
Baroness Shackleton of Belgravia	Lord Sharpe of Epsom	Lord Sheikh		
Baroness Shephard of Northwold	Lord Sherbourne of Didsbury	Lord Smith of Hindhead		
Baroness Stedman-Scott	Lord Sterling of Plaistow	Lord Stewart of Dirleton		
Baroness Stowell of Beeston	Lord Taylor of Holbeach	Viscount Trenchard		
Lord True	Lord Udny-Lister	Lord Vaizey of Didcot		
Baroness Vere of Norbiton	Lord Wharton of Yarm	Lord Willetts		
Baroness Williams of Trafford	Lord Wolfson of Tredegar	Baroness Wyld		
Viscount Younger of Leckie				

Conservative Votes against the Government

Lord Forsyth of Drumlean	Lord Hamilton of Epsom	Earl Liverpool
Lord Mackay of Clashfern	Lord Polak	

Labour Votes with the Government

Labour Votes against the Government

Lord Adonis	Baroness Andrews	Baroness Armstrong of Hill Top
Baroness Blower	Lord Bradley	Lord Browne of Ladyton
Viscount Chandos	Lord Collins of Highbury	Lord Davies of Brixton
Lord Dubs	Lord Eatwell	Lord Elder
Baroness Golding	Lord Harris of Haringey	Baroness Hayman of Ullock
Baroness Healy of Primrose Hill	Lord Hendy	Baroness Henig
Lord Howarth of Newport	Lord Hunt of Kings Heath	Baroness Jones of Whitchurch
Lord Kennedy of Southwark	Baroness Kennedy of The Shaws	Baroness Lister of Burtersett
Lord Maxton	Lord McAvoy	Lord McConnell of Glenscorrodale
Baroness McIntosh of Hudnall	Baroness Merron	Lord Murphy of Torfaen
Baroness Pitkeathley	Baroness Rebuck	Lord Rosser
Baroness Sherlock	Baroness Smith of Basildon	Viscount Stansgate
Baroness Thornton	Lord Triesman	Lord Tunnicliffe
Lord Watson of Invergowrie	Baroness Whitaker	Baroness Wilcox of Newport
Lord Wood of Anfield		

Liberal Democrat Votes with the Government

Liberal Democrat Votes against the Government

Baroness Barker
Lord Campbell of Pittenweem
Lord Foster of Bath
Baroness Hamwee
Lord Jones of Cheltenham
Lord Oates
Baroness Randerson
Lord Scriven
Baroness Smith of Newnham
Lord Stunell
Lord Tope
Baroness Walmsley

Baroness Bonham-Carter of Yarnbury Baroness Brinton Lord Clement-Jones Lord Fox Baroness Harris of Richmond Baroness Kramer Lord Paddick Lord Razzall Baroness Sheehan Lord Stoneham of Droxford Baroness Thomas of Winchester Baroness Tyler of Enfield Lord Willis of Knaresborough

Lord Dholakia **Baroness Grender Baroness Jolly Baroness Northover** Lord Purvis of Tweed Lord Rennard Lord Shipley Lord Strasburger Lord Thomas of Gresford Lord Wallace of Saltaire

Crossbench Votes with the Government Viscount Craigavon Earl Erroll

Crossbench Votes against the Government

Lord Aberdare	Lord Alton of Liverpool	Baroness Bull
Baroness Campbell of Surbiton	Baroness D'Souza	Baroness Finlay of Llandaff
Baroness Greengross	Baroness Grey-Thompson	Baroness Hollins
Lord Kakkar	Lord Kerslake	Lord Kilclooney
Lord Londesborough	Baroness Masham of Ilton	Baroness Neuberger
Baroness Prashar	Lord Russell of Liverpool	Lord Stevens of Birmingham
Lord Warner	Baroness Watkins of Tavistock	

Bishop Votes with the Government

Bishop Votes against the Government

Other Votes with the Government

Lord Gadhia

Other Votes against the Government Lord Dodds of Duncairn

Lord Dodds of Duncairn Lord Mann Lord Taylor of Warwick Baroness Jones of Moulsecoomb Lord Smith of Finsbury Baroness Kennedy of Cradley Lord Stone of Blackheath

Ref: 2536