Government Defeat in Lords on Health and Care Bill

Monday 07/03/2022

On 07/03/2022 the government had a defeat in the House of Lords on an amendment to the Health and Care Bill: To insert a clause requiring that the government bring into force the cap on care charges set out in the Care Act 2014 by April 2023.

This was defeat number 83 in the parliamentary session.

Breakdown of Votes	For Govt	Against Govt	Total	No vote
Conservative	141	0	141	116
Labour	0	90	90	78
Liberal Democrat	0	60	60	24
Crossbench	1	28	29	151
Bishops	0	1	1	24
Other	1	8	9	43
Total	143	187	330	436

Baroness Anelay of St Johns

Lord Black of Brentwood Baroness Bloomfield of Hinton

Lord Balfe

Waldrist

Lord Lucas

Lord Benvon

Conservative Votes with the Government

Earl Lindsay

Lord Ahmad of WimbledonLord AltrinchamLord Arbuthnot of EdromEarl ArranBaroness BarranLord BellinghamBaroness BerridgeBaroness BertinBaroness Blackwood of North OxfordLord Blencathra

Lord Borwick Lord Bourne of Aberystwyth Baroness Brady Viscount Bridgeman Lord Brownlow of Shurlock Row Lord Caine Lord Callanan Lord Carrington of Fulham Lord Choudrey Lord Clarke of Nottingham Lord Colgrain Lord Colwyn Lord Cormack Earl Courtown Lord Crathorne Lord Cruddas Lord Davies of Gower Lord De Mauley Lord Dobbs Earl Dundee Baroness Eaton

Baroness Eccles of Moulton

Viscount Eccles

Baroness Evans of Bowes Park

Lord Fairfax of Cameron

Baroness Fall

Baroness Fookes

Lord Fairfax of CameronBaroness FallBaroness FookesLord Forsyth of DrumleanBaroness Foster of OxtonLord FramlinghamBaroness Fraser of CraigmaddieLord FrostLord Garnier

Lord Gold Lord Goodlad Lord Grade of Yarmouth
Lord Greenhalgh Lord Griffiths of Fforestfach Lord Hamilton of Epsom
Lord Hannan of Kingsclere Baroness Harding of Winscombe Lord Harris of Peckham

Lord Hannan of Kingsciere Baroness Harding of Winscombe Lord Harris of Peckham

Lord Haselhurst Lord Herbert of South Downs Baroness Hodgson of Abinger

Lord Holmes of Richmond Baroness Hooper Lord Horam

Lord Howard of RisingEarl HoweLord Hunt of WirralBaroness Jenkin of KenningtonLord Johnson of MaryleboneLord JoplingLord KamallLord Keen of ElieLord Kirkham

Lord Lamont of Lerwick Lord Lancaster of Kimbolton Lord Lang of Monkton
Earl Leicester Lord Leigh of Hurley Lord Lexden

Baroness ManzoorLord Maude of HorshamLord McColl of DulwichLord McInnes of KilwinningBaroness McIntosh of PickeringLord McLoughlinBaroness MeyerBaroness MobarikDuke of Montrose

Lord Moylan Lord Naseby Lord Nash

Lord Lingfield

Baroness Neville-Rolfe Baroness Nicholson of Winterbourne **Baroness Noakes** Lord Norton of Louth Lord Parkinson of Whitley Bay Lord Patten Baroness Penn Lord Pickles **Baroness Pidding** Lord Polak Lord Popat Lord Porter of Spalding Lord Price Lord Reay Baroness Redfern Baroness Rock Lord Sandhurst Lord Risby Lord Sarfraz Lord Sassoon **Baroness Sater** Baroness Seccombe Lord Selkirk of Douglas Lord Sharpe of Epsom Lord Sheikh Lord Sherbourne of Didsbury Lord Shinkwin

Lord Smith of Hindhead Baroness Stedman-Scott Lord Stewart of Dirleton Baroness Stowell of Beeston Lord Strathclyde **Baroness Stroud** Baroness Sugg Lord Taylor of Holbeach Lord Trefgarne Viscount Trenchard Lord True Lord Tugendhat Baroness Vere of Norbiton Lord Wharton of Yarm Lord Wei Lord Whitby Baroness Williams of Trafford Lord Willetts Lord Wolfson of Tredegar Viscount Younger of Leckie Baroness Wyld

Conservative Votes against the Government

Labour Votes with the Government

Labour Votes against the Government

Baroness Adams of Craigielea Lord Adonis Lord Anderson of Swansea
Baroness Armstrong of Hill Top Baroness Bakewell Lord Bassam of Brighton

Baroness Blower Lord Blunkett Lord Bradley
Lord Browne of Ladyton Lord Campbell-Savours Lord Carter of Coles

Lord CashmanViscount ChandosBaroness Chapman of DarlingtonLord Clark of WindermereLord CoakerBaroness Cohen of PimlicoLord Collins of HighburyBaroness CorstonLord Davies of Brixton

Baroness Donaghy Baroness Drake Lord Dubs

Lord Eatwell Lord Elder Lord Foulkes of Cumnock
Baroness Gale Baroness Golding Lord Grantchester
Lord Hacking Lord Hain Viscount Hanworth

Lord Harris of Haringey Baroness Hayman of Ullock Baroness Hayter of Kentish Town

Baroness Healy of Primrose Hill Lord Hendy Lord Hollick

Lord Howarth of NewportLord Hunt of Kings HeathLord Hutton of FurnessBaroness Jones of WhitchurchLord JordanLord Kennedy of Southwark

Lord Khan of Burnley Baroness Lawrence of Clarendon Lord Layard Lord Lennie Lord Levy Lord Liddle Baroness Lister of Burtersett Lord Maxton Lord McAvoy Lord McConnell of Glenscorrodale Lord Mendelsohn Baroness Merron Lord Monks Lord Murphy of Torfaen Baroness Nye **Baroness Osamor** Lord Pendry Baroness Pitkeathley Lord Ponsonby of Shulbrede Baroness Rebuck Lord Reid of Cardowan

Baroness Ritchie of Downpatrick Lord Robertson of Port Ellen Lord Rooker Lord Rosser Baroness Royall of Blaisdon Lord Sawyer

Baroness Sherlock Lord Sikka Baroness Smith of Basildon

Lord Snape Viscount Stansgate Baroness Thornton

Lord TomlinsonLord TunnicliffeLord Watson of InvergowrieLord WattsBaroness WheelerBaroness WhitakerBaroness Wilcox of NewportLord WinstonLord Wood of Anfield

Lord Woodley Lord Young of Norwood Green Baroness Young of Old Scone

Liberal Democrat Votes with the Government

Liberal Democrat Votes against the Government

Lord Addington Lord Alderdice Baroness Bakewell of Hardington

Mandeville

Baroness BarkerLord BeithBaroness BenjaminBaroness Bonham-Carter of YarnburyBaroness BrintonLord Bruce of BennachieLord BurnettLord Campbell of PittenweemLord Clement-Jones

Lord DholakiaBaroness FeatherstoneLord Foster of BathLord FoxBaroness Garden of FrognalEarl GlasgowLord Goddard of StockportBaroness GrenderBaroness HamweeBaroness Harris of RichmondBaroness HumphreysLord Hussain

Baroness Hussein-Ece Baroness Janke Lord Jones of Cheltenham

Baroness Kramer Lord Marks of Henley-on-Thames Lord McNally
Lord Newby Baroness Northover Lord Oates
Lord Paddick Lord Palmer of Childs Hill Baroness Parminter

Baroness Pinnock Baroness Randerson Lord Razzall

Lord RedesdaleLord RennardLord Roberts of LlandudnoBaroness Scott of Needham MarketLord SharkeyBaroness SheehanLord ShipleyBaroness Smith of NewnhamLord Stoneham of Droxford

Lord Storey Lord Strasburger Lord Stunell

Baroness Suttie Lord Teverson Baroness Thomas of Winchester

Lord Thomas of Gresford Viscount Thurso Lord Tope

Baroness Tyler of Enfield Lord Wallace of Saltaire Baroness Walmsley

Crossbench Votes with the Government

Viscount Craigavon

Crossbench Votes against the Government

Lord Alton of Liverpool Lord Best Lord Birt

Baroness Boycott

Baroness Brown of Cambridge

Baroness Campbell of Surbiton

Carl Clancarty

Lord Crisp

Baroness Greengross

Baroness Grey-Thompson

Lord Hannay of Chiswick

Baroness Greengross Baroness Grey-Thompson Lord Hannay of Ch Baroness Hollins Lord Kilclooney Lord Krebs Lord Londesborough Baroness Meacher Baroness Murphy

Baroness Neuberger Baroness O'Loan Lord Patel

Lord Ramsbotham Lord Ravensdale Lord Russell of Liverpool

Lord St John of Bletso Lord Stevens of Birmingham Lord Warner

Baroness Wheatcroft

Bishop Votes with the Government

Bishop Votes against the Government

Bishop of Worcester

Other Votes with the Government

Lord Empey

Other Votes against the Government

Baroness Bennett of Manor Castle Lord Desai Baroness Jones of Moulsecoomb
Lord Lea of Crondall Lord Mackenzie of Framwellgate Lord McCrea Magherafelt and
Cookstown

Baroness Uddin Lord Wigley Ref: 2542